Skip to content
Back to the blog
20 min read August 24, 2026

Best Evidence for Learning Alternatives for UK Schools (2026)

Evidence for Learning is a strong specialist evidence and assessment platform. Schools that also need structured SEND documents, controlled migration and a governed document lifecycle usually need a second, different tool.

In short: if you are looking for an Evidence for Learning alternative because you need a broader special educational needs and disabilities (SEND) management platform, start with a direct category alternative such as MeritDocs. If what you actually want is better daily evidence capture, Evidence for Learning is already one of the strongest specialist options and swapping it may not help.

These are different buying centres, not proof that a school needs two systems. Rich evidence capture answers "what did this pupil do, and when". A whole SEND management platform also needs to manage provision, cost, plans, pupil passports, reviews, reports and migration. The decision is whether the school needs more multimedia capture, a broader provision workflow, or both.

This page compares the realistic options for UK schools, says clearly where a detail is not publicly stated rather than guessing, and sets out what to test before you move anything.

First, what does "Evidence for Learning" mean here?

Evidence for Learning is theTeacherCloud Ltd's specialist SEND evidence, assessment and planning platform. Its official site describes rich photo and video evidence linked to learning goals and frameworks, custom assessment criteria, individual learning plans, Education, Health and Care Plans (EHCPs), progression frameworks and accreditation, assessment books, learning journeys, family sharing, multi-agency collaboration, and filters and tags. The school offer is a cloud subscription with a web console and mobile companion apps, which is a separate thing from the free companion app on the public app stores. The privacy policy names theTeacherCloud Ltd as owner and operator.

One quick clarification, because it causes real procurement confusion: Evidence Me is a separate product from a different supplier. If a colleague forwards a comparison, check which product it is actually about before drawing conclusions.

On scale, the supplier's webinar material states use in more than 700 specialist SEND schools, colleges and specialist resource provisions, plus hundreds of mainstream schools, and the home page states more than 75,000 practitioners. Those are vendor-reported figures rather than independently audited ones. The Google Play listing for the staff companion app shows 1,000 or more downloads, and the family app previously showed 10,000 or more and was updated in February 2026. Treat app download bands as directional adoption evidence, not a school count.

For England, the practice reference point is the SEND Code of Practice, not a supplier's compliance claim. Wales runs an additional learning needs framework with individual development plans, Scotland uses additional support for learning, and Northern Ireland has its own SEN framework. Ask any supplier what it supports for your nation rather than assuming English terminology transfers.

Evidence for Learning alternatives at a glance

Across the six products compared here, storing, tagging, reporting and exporting SEND information is well covered, and several products document import routes from a school's MIS or transfers between settings that use the same system. The capabilities most rarely presented as core are turning a school's own evidence into an AI-drafted SEN Support Plan that staff then review, and importing varied legacy plan documents into a single consistent structure.

Evidence for Learning alternatives compared for UK schools

Swipe to compare

Evidence for Learning alternatives compared for UK schools
PlatformAI-assistedplan authoringControlledmigrationAPDR, reviews& outcomesCostedprovisionPrice
MeritDocs ✅ AI-assisted plan authoring with staff approval ✅ Controlled migration with warnings and unmapped content shown for review ✅ APDR reviews, outcomes, reporting and versioned records ✅ Costed provision and funding contextFrom £75 per school/month billed annually From £75 per school/month billed annually; 28-day free trial; 10% MAT discount
Evidence for Learning ? AI-assisted plan drafting not confirmed in the pages reviewed; individual learning plans and EHCP-linked targets are supported ✅ Spreadsheet learner import, framework-library import and device-to-cloud sync documented ✅ Evidence linked to goals, learning plans, progression and learning journeys ? Costed provision not confirmed in the sources reviewedFrom £595/year ex VAT (Access5) From £595/year ex VAT (Access5); Access10 £895 and AccessUnlimited £1,295 annually; app subscription, extra modules separate
Tes Provision Map ? No AI plan drafting found; manual plan templates and editable target libraries provided ✅ Spreadsheet pupil import; document transfer within an approved cluster; pupil-list Excel and plan/document PDF exports ✅ Learning plans, targets, interventions, reports and transition ✅ Costed provision for EHCP and funding evidenceFrom £795/year (third-party listing) From £795/year (third-party listing); EdTech Impact reference, VAT unspecified; confirm current Tes quote
Arbor ? Arbor AI drafts emails, reports and student summaries for review; SEND plan generation not confirmed ✅ Migrates SIMS notes including SEN notes and education plans via GroupCall; general school documents not migrated ✅ Integrated care plans, interventions, EHCP filing and annual review workflow ? Costed provision not confirmed in the sources reviewedQuote Quote; published 2024/25 G-Cloud rate-card examples and package scope explained below
Bromcom ? Bromcom AI drafts letters, emails and lesson content for review; SEND plan generation not confirmed ✅ Automated MIS migration from SIMS, CMIS and RM Integris; SIMS primary self-service route supports up to five years ✅ Active provisions, EHCPs, events and upcoming reviews with filter and export ? Costed provision not confirmed in the sources reviewed£1,210/year (G-Cloud 14 primary) £1,210/year (G-Cloud 14 primary); package-specific listing, not a universal 2026 school quote; confirm VAT
CPOMS ? SEND-plan generation not confirmed; documented product focus is safeguarding and pastoral records ✅ Supported import from another safeguarding provider, paper-file uploads and authorised inter-school transfers ? SEND plan, provision and review workflow not confirmed ? Costed provision not confirmed in the sources reviewedQuote for core CPOMS Quote for core CPOMS; CPOMS Engage pricing is for a separate product

The symbols show what each supplier publicly describes in the sources reviewed. A question mark means the detail was not clear enough to verify, so schools should confirm it in writing and test one complete pupil journey before choosing a platform.

Drafting means AI-assisted SEND-plan authoring, not templates or general writing. Import and migration covers documented incoming data or document routes; the scope differs by product. SEND workflow covers plans, provision, reviews or specialist assessment. A data-protection tick records published safeguards, not a compliance guarantee. A question mark means unconfirmed for this specific use. Prices were checked on 8 September 2026; dated rate cards and third-party figures are labelled below.

Rich evidence versus finished SEND documents

This is the distinction that decides the purchase, so it is worth being blunt about it.

Evidence capture is about volume and immediacy. A teaching assistant records a short video, tags it to a target, and a family sees progress the same week. Done well, it is genuinely valuable in specialist settings, and it is what Evidence for Learning is built around.

Document work is about a small number of high-stakes artefacts. A SEN Support Plan or profound and multiple learning difficulties (PMLD) Support Plan that a supply teacher can read in three minutes. An annual review that links back to a baseline instead of starting from a blank page. A version history that shows what changed and who approved it. A clean export when a pupil transfers.

Evidence does not automatically become a document. Somebody still reads across the evidence, decides what matters, writes it in the school's format, gets it approved and files it. That is where most special educational needs coordinators (SENCOs) evening work goes.

To be fair to Evidence for Learning: it does support individual learning plans, EHCP-linked targets and progression frameworks, so this is not a claim that it produces no documents. The point is narrower. In the public offer reviewed, the centre of gravity is evidence, assessment, learning journeys and family sharing. Structured document drafting and controlled migration of legacy documents are not stated as the core offer.

1. MeritDocs: best for whole SEND provision management with artificial intelligence (AI)-assisted authoring

MeritDocs is a whole SEND provision-management platform rather than a capture app. It covers costed provision mapping, pupil passports, plans, reviews, reporting and migration, with AI-assisted authoring as a differentiator.

Every customer can start with a 28-day free trial, using the school's own cohort and documents before choosing a paid licence.

The Document Wizard helps staff turn recorded pupil information into structured UK SEN Support Plans and PMLD Support Plans. Staff review and approve the output. Structured needs extraction is designed to preserve pupil, parent, staff and professional-report voice without adding unsupported inference, and it does not diagnose.

Batch import accepts legacy Portable Document Format files (PDFs), DOCX files and images, maps source material into a consistent structure, and shows warnings, confidence signals and unmapped content before anything is confirmed. Nobody should promise perfect imports here. SEND formats vary by school and by local authority, and the honest version of migration is "mapped, flagged and checked by a human".

The Documents Hub then keeps documents, versions, assignments, review context and lifecycle state in a governed workflow, with filtering by pupil, visible current versions and review dates, and export. A review version can be linked to a previous baseline, which is what makes an annual review read as a continuation rather than a new file with a new date.

The published data-protection position is a documented Data Processing Agreement (DPA), Data Protection Impact Assessment (DPIA) support, encryption, UK and European Union (EU) processing, EU zero-retention AI drafting, no training on pupil data, role controls, two-factor authentication (2FA), single sign-on (SSO), audit logs, and export and deletion on exit. That is a set of controls rather than a statutory compliance guarantee, which no supplier can honestly offer. The security page is the summary a Data Protection Officer (DPO) usually asks for first.

Document import, pupil-data import and Google Workspace sign-in are live. Other management information system (MIS) connections are listed with their current status on the integrations page.

Background reading on the underlying workload problem: how SENCO software should reduce paperwork without losing accuracy.

Best for: specialist and mainstream schools that want one managed SEND provision workflow for mapping, passports, plans, reviews, reporting and migration, while keeping rich evidence capture where it is genuinely needed.

See pricing or review the security and data controls.

2. Evidence for Learning: best for rich evidence and family sharing

Evidence for Learning remains the reference point for specialist evidence capture, and this comparison is not an argument that it is a weak product.

Its public offer covers photo and video evidence linked to goals and frameworks, custom assessment criteria, individual learning plans, EHCPs, progression frameworks and accreditation, assessment books, learning journeys, family sharing, multi-agency collaboration, and filtering and tagging. For a PMLD or complex-needs cohort where progress is lateral and hard to express in numbers, that model fits the reality of the classroom better than most assessment systems.

On data protection, theTeacherCloud's privacy policy sets out the substantive position for the school service: the school is the data controller and theTeacherCloud is the processor, the cloud service is hosted on AWS infrastructure within the EU, data is encrypted at rest and in transit over TLS 1.2, and the user manager supports two-factor authentication. It also states a defined offboarding route, with a 28-day download period on request within 10 days of termination and deletion completed within 30 days. The Google Play data-safety label is not a substitute for these school-service terms. Check the current licence and DPA against your retention schedule.

The published school subscription prices are £595 a year for Access5, £895 for Access10 and £1,295 for AccessUnlimited, excluding VAT. The corresponding three-year totals are £1,495, £1,895 and £2,795, paid in advance. These cover the EfL app subscription; Insights for Learning, EfL Forms and bespoke MAT support need separate pricing. EfL offers a free 14-day trial.

Best for: specialist schools, colleges and resource provisions where daily multimedia evidence and family engagement are the core requirement.

3. Tes Provision Map: best for established provision mapping

Tes Provision Map covers learning plans, pupil passports, targets, interventions, reports, reminders and transition between settings. It is the long-standing category product and many SENCOs already know the workflow. Plans are built manually from templates and an editable target library. Schools can import pupils from a spreadsheet, export pupil lists to Excel and produce printable PDF document packs, and transfer plans, provisions, passports and attached files to another Provision Map school through an approved transition cluster. On data protection, the Tes Data Processing Agreement applies under UK GDPR, and the product uses secure hosting, industry-standard encryption and two-factor authentication. School Robins is now included as standard in all subscriptions.

Verified reviews on EdTech Impact praise centralisation and staff visibility while also mentioning setup effort, training and manual authoring. That is qualitative reviewer feedback, not a prevalence study. Tes does not publish a list price and asks schools to request a quote based on organisation size and features. As a rough reference point only, EdTech Impact lists pricing from £795 a year; that is a third-party figure with VAT unspecified and not a current universal Tes quote, so confirm your own price directly. A fuller breakdown sits in the Tes Provision Map alternatives guide.

Best for: schools whose gap is provision mapping, targets and intervention tracking rather than evidence capture.

4. Arbor: best for schools that want SEND inside the MIS

Arbor is a broad cloud MIS with a dedicated Arbor special school MIS for special schools, alternative provision and pupil referral units (PRUs). Its page states flexible interventions, custom assessment frameworks, automated reporting, comprehensive profiles, integrated care plans, trend analysis, parent access, permissioned data, Arbor Workflows and EHCP filing, along with claims of 12,000 schools migrated and 99% customer training satisfaction. Those last two are vendor claims.

Arbor's own support material also documents constraints worth knowing before a demo: the EHCP annual review workflow can collect data and save the outcome and notes back to Arbor; Workflows are stated as included in the newest packages or available as an add-on; schools cannot add SEN or ALN needs outside the supplied statutory list; EHCP and top-up funding are not automatically linked; and recording SENDiF requires a user-defined field. On data protection, Arbor's compliance guide sets out UK AWS (London) hosting and AES-256 encryption in transit and at rest, and Arbor migrates SIMS notes including SEN notes and education plans, though it does not currently migrate general school documents. Arbor AI drafts emails, reports and student summaries for staff to review, which is admin assistance rather than verified SEND plan generation from evidence.

Arbor has a published 2024/25 G-Cloud rate card. Its primary Core example is £2,100 plus £3.15 per pupil; primary Perform, which includes provision mapping, is £2,100 plus £10.50 per pupil. Those are dated package prices, not a current universal quote. Confirm your package, implementation costs, billing period and VAT with Arbor.

If you are weighing this option seriously, the Arbor alternatives guide goes further into when a MIS is and is not the right home for SEND work.

Best for: schools already committed to a single whole-school system and willing to configure SEND inside it.

5. Bromcom: best for a MIS-led SEND overview

Bromcom is the other large UK MIS most schools shortlist. Its SEN Dashboard documentation describes SEN status and category, active provisions, EHCPs, events and upcoming SEN reviews, with filtering, export and print.

That gives leaders a clear operational view of the register and what is due. Bromcom's AI data-processing documentation sets out TLS 1.2+ and AES-256 at rest, an ISO 27001-certified information security management system, role-based access, and a statement that customer data is not used for machine training, and its SIMS primary self-service portal migrates up to five years of data. Its wider MIS migration service also lists CMIS and RM Integris. Bromcom AI documents drafting for letters, emails and lesson content. Generating a SEN Support Plan from evidence is not presented in the documentation reviewed, so ask for it explicitly.

The Bromcom MIS for Primary Schools G-Cloud 14 listing shows £1,210 per licence per year. It is a specific primary-school service listing, not a universal price for Bromcom or a confirmed current quote for your school. Ask Bromcom to confirm the package, implementation costs and VAT.

Best for: schools that want the SEND overview to live in the same system as attendance, assessment and reporting.

6. CPOMS: best for safeguarding and pastoral chronologies

CPOMS covers safeguarding, wellbeing and pastoral records, chronologies, data visualisation and cross-setting collaboration. Much of the context that surrounds a SEND plan lives in exactly these records. Its published data-security controls include AES-256 encryption at rest, TLS in transit, role-based access and routine backups, and child-protection histories transfer between CPOMS schools once authorised. CPOMS also documents technical-team support for importing records from another safeguarding provider and uploading paper files. Note that CPOMS Engage is a separately tariffed product rather than a substitute for the core safeguarding software.

It is not a provision-mapping or document-drafting product and does not present itself as one. Treat it as the chronology layer that sits beside a SEND workflow.

Best for: schools that need safeguarding and pastoral chronologies alongside, not instead of, SEND documentation.

What specialist schools should test

Specialist settings have requirements that mainstream comparison lists tend to skip. Test these specifically:

  • Lateral progress. Can the system express small-steps progress without forcing an inappropriate age-related framework?
  • Multi-professional input. Can therapy, health and social care contributions sit in the record in their own words?
  • Care and medical context. Where do care plans, risk assessments and moving-and-handling notes live?
  • Staffing reality. Can a teaching assistant record something on a phone in a classroom without a training session?
  • Media volume. What happens to storage, retention and export when a cohort produces years of photo and video?
  • Handover. Can you produce a usable document for a new class team, a supply teacher or a transition to a new setting?
  • Annual review. Does the review link to the previous baseline, or start blank?

Migration and data checks

Evidence platforms accumulate large volumes of media, and media is the part that migrates badly. Before agreeing anything:

  1. Ask exactly what an export contains: structured records, media files, tags, timestamps, author names and comments.
  2. Ask for a sample export from a real class, not a screenshot.
  3. Check whether media exports keep their link to the target or goal, or arrive as a folder of unlabelled files.
  4. Confirm retention, deletion and export terms in the contract, not from a store listing or a marketing page.
  5. Confirm who owns the content and any parent-shared material.
  6. Check what happens to family app access during and after a transition.
  7. Agree the storage cost and location of your archive if you keep historic evidence outside the new system.
  8. Decide what you genuinely need to migrate. Not every photo from three years ago needs to move.

A short switching checklist

  1. Confirm the renewal date and notice period in writing.
  2. Define the problem you are solving in one sentence, and test only that.
  3. Request a full export before committing to any replacement.
  4. Pilot three to five real pupils, including one with a complex profile.
  5. Check dates, versions, authorship, attachments and voice after import.
  6. Run both systems in parallel for a short, fixed period.
  7. Name the person who signs off that migrated records are accurate.
  8. Train by role, not with one all-staff demonstration.
  9. Tell families what is changing if a family-facing app is involved.
  10. Get export, deletion, support and pricing terms in the contract.

Frequently asked questions

Is Evidence for Learning a bad product?

No. It is a strong specialist platform for evidence capture, assessment and family sharing. The question is whether that is the problem you are trying to solve.

Can we keep Evidence for Learning and add a document platform?

Yes, and many specialist schools should. Keep capture where it works and add a document layer for plan drafting, versioning and review. Duplication is only a problem if both systems claim to hold the current plan.

If we run both, which one holds the current plan?

Decide this explicitly on day one and write it down. One system should be the single source of the approved current document; the other holds the evidence behind it.

What can we migrate out of an evidence platform?

That depends entirely on the export format, which is why you should request a sample export before signing anything new. Structured records usually travel more cleanly than media and tags.

Can old photos and videos be imported into a document platform?

Batch import accepts PDFs, DOCX files and images and maps them into a consistent structure with warnings and unmapped content shown. It is designed for documents rather than as a media archive, so plan a separate home for bulk video.

Will staff have to rewrite existing plans?

No. Existing plans can be imported and mapped, then checked. Because SEND formats vary between schools and local authorities, expect a review step rather than a perfect automatic conversion.

Does it work with our MIS?

You do not need a live MIS connection to start. Import pupil data, agree how the register will be refreshed and check the integrations page for your MIS status before procurement.

What does it cost?

Public pricing starts at £75 per school per month billed annually, with a 10% multi-academy trust (MAT) discount. Every customer can start with a 28-day free trial before choosing a paid licence. Confirm the current quote, since pricing can depend on school context. See pricing.

Is a specialist school better off with a MIS module?

Sometimes. If SEND records are the only gap and the MIS already covers them adequately, configure what you have. If document authoring and migration are the bottleneck, a module inside a MIS rarely solves it.

What security evidence should we request?

The DPA, DPIA support, hosting and processing locations, sub-processors, retention and deletion terms, encryption approach, role controls, 2FA and SSO, audit logging and an export route on exit. Ask every supplier the same list and compare written answers.

Is pupil data used to train AI models?

Not in MeritDocs. Drafting runs in the EU under zero-retention terms and pupil data is not used for model training. Ask other suppliers directly, because policies differ.

Does AI decide anything about a pupil?

No. Drafting is tied to recorded information and staff review and approve every output. Nothing here produces a diagnosis or replaces professional judgement.

What about accessibility?

Ask for an accessibility statement and any conformance evidence, then test with the assistive technology your staff and families actually use. Specialist settings should test this harder than most.

How do we get staff to adopt it?

Choose the smallest change that removes a real task, train by role, and check after a term whether documents are quicker to produce and easier to find. Adoption follows saved time, not feature count.

Can we export our documents at any time?

Yes. Documents can be exported from the Documents Hub. For any supplier, test the export before signing rather than after.

What happens if we leave later?

Export and deletion on exit are part of the published data-protection position and should be written into the contract. Ask for confirmation of deletion in writing.

The short recommendation

Evidence for Learning is a serious specialist platform, and if daily evidence capture, assessment and family sharing are your priority it is difficult to better. Schools should not switch away from something that works for the sake of consolidation.

The alternative worth testing is a broader SEND management platform, and the trigger is specific: staff are spending evenings reconciling provision, rewriting plans, updating passports, chasing reviews and rebuilding reports from scattered records. MeritDocs is built to compete for that whole workflow, including costed provision mapping, pupil passports, plans, reviews, reporting, migration and AI-assisted authoring. It can replace fragmented tools where the school wants one leaner system, rather than adding another sideline product.

Tes Provision Map remains sensible for provision mapping, Arbor and Bromcom for schools that want SEND inside the MIS, and CPOMS for safeguarding chronologies. Whichever way you go, test one real pupil from evidence through to an approved, exported document before signing anything.

Talk to the team

Request a demo, ask about migration from an evidence platform, or work out what a sensible split between capture and documents looks like in your setting. This goes straight to the team. We reply within one working day.

Tell us about your setting

Prefer email?

Demo and sales enquiries reach the team: contact@meritdocs.com

Sending this to your DPO?

The security page covers the questions DPOs usually ask first, with the full technical detail available on request.

Sources and further reading

This is a maintained comparison page. Competitor product pages, documentation and platform-store listings are used only to describe what those suppliers publicly offer or disclose. They are not used to support claims about MeritDocs, the wider SEND software market, workload prevalence, comparative security or unstated weaknesses. Vendor-reported figures are labelled as such. Where a detail was not publicly stated in the sources reviewed, this page says so rather than claiming a product cannot do something.

MeritDocs product, pricing and security statements come from current first-party pages and approved product and data-protection documentation. The Google Play data-safety information is developer-provided and describes an app listing, so it is presented as a procurement question to verify in the contract rather than as evidence about an organisation. No independent review score is quoted for Evidence for Learning, because none was available in the sources reviewed. No review or forum wording is reproduced verbatim.

Sources reviewed for this page: